Camby Burn ~ LSL W NO256020 1 373 105m
O Camy 1642 Gordon MS Fife [referring to a burn]
N Camy 1642 Gordon MS Fife [referring to a burn; N very difficult to read]
O. Cammy 1654 Blaeu (Gordon) Fife [wrongly shown as a settlement]
N. Cammy 1654 Blaeu (Gordon) Fife [wrongly shown as a settlement]
Camby Burn 1856 OS 6 inch 1st edn
en Camby + Sc burn
Camby must be the old name of the burn, the first element of which is found in all the insular Celtic languages, deriving from *kambo- ‘crooked, bent’, giving G cam (OIr camb) and Welsh cam. It is relatively common in Scottish place-names (see Watson 1926, 143), and is found in Fife in such names as Cambo KBS, Cameron CMN and MAI, and Kemback. In the case of Camby it refers to the course of the burn.
There is no evidence that Camby was ever the name of a settlement, despite the Blaeu (Gordon) Fife representation of it as such. Gordon MS Fife (1642) shows O Camy and N Camy each written along the north side of two branches of what appears to be the Camby Burn. Neither of these two names is shown by Gordon with a settlement symbol, and it seems that he intended them to represent the names of the two branches of the burn. Blaeu (Gordon) Fife (1654) has misinterpreted these two names as settlement-names, and has supplied them with settlement-symbols.
While it is very rare to find the branches of a burn distinguished by the affixes Over and Nether, it is not unique: North and South Quiech KNR are Over-Cwich fluvius and Neither-Cwich flu. respectively on Gordon MS Fife, repeated with only minor variation on Blaeu (Gordon) Fife.
The NGR is for the point where OS Pathf. Camby Burn enters the Lothrie Burn. Both branches of the burn are marked on SGF (1828) but neither is named.
This place-name appeared in printed volume 2